Score board

ICC world cup 2019. Get all information about daily matches, match results, points table etc here.

Australia in Australia - 2007 - 08 : India lost series 2-1

2007-08 in Australia
Australia wrapped up the first Test by 377 runs, on the fourth day, to record their ninth successive victory at the MCG, in the 100th Test match played there. India effectively lost the match on the second day when they collapsed against some tight Australian bowling, and conceded a first-innings deficit of 147. Ponting declared 498 ahead late on the third day and on the fourth evening India had been bowled out for under 200 for the second time in the match. Australia won a most thrilling Test at Sydney with nine minutes to go on the final day, with Clarke's left-arm spin the unlikely victor. But this, their record-equaling Test win, was overshadowed by the row that erupted over the allegation that Harbhajan had racially abused Andrew Symonds. Match referee Mike Procter's decision to ban Harbhajan for three Tests incensed India, and the tour was almost abandoned. That didn't happen, but the BCCI succeeded in getting the ICC to remove umpire Steve Bucknor from the Perth Test after he had a shocking match. With much of the Australian public also scathing of their national team's behaviour, India turned the tables on the hosts to hand them their first Test defeat at the WACA since 1996-97, and their first on home soil since India won in Adelaide in December 2003. There was no record 17th consecutive win, and Kumble became only the third bowler to take 600 Test wickets. Kumble described the memorable win, which came at what had historically been Australia's stronghold, as one of the very best of his Test career. The series was intriguingly posed at Adelaide, and India amassed 526 in their first innings, but Australia replied with champion application. India suddenly found themselves needing to save the match on day five, and in the end Sehwag's attacking century denied Gilchrist victory in what was his 96th and last Test. After beating Mark Boucher's Test record for wicketkeeping dismissals - 413 - Gilchrist announced on the third evening that he would retire at the end of the season.
Australia 2 India 1

India Vs Australia - Cricket at its best

This post is to revive the memories of famous 'Very Very Special' Kolkata Test and of course Very very special innings by VVS Laxman. Touring Australia team in 2001 had already won 16 tests and it was on its way to make 17 test win in a row.
It was only the third time in 130 years of Test cricket that a team forced to follow on won the match.

Batting first Australia scored 445 in first innings. Only indian bowling highlights in this innings was a hat-rick by Harbhajan Singh. It was first Hatrick by an Indian in test cricket, though years later Irfan Pathan also scored a hatrick against Pakistan.

In reply India were all out for 171 with VVS laxman being the alone batsman to face the Australian bowlers with scoring 59 runs.

Following on 274 runs behind India did better the second time round but late in the day at 232 for four were still facing defeat with a day to spare. Rahul Dravid joined Laxman at this stage and the two batted till close of play.

The turning point occurred the following day when the pair batted throughout. It was an amazing transformation opening up interesting possibilities. The record 376-run partnership was not broken till the morning of the final day with Dravid out for 180. Laxman went on to get 281.

Indian inning was declared at 657 for seven thus Australians were given a victory target of 384 runs in 75 overs. All were thinking of a draw as Australia got off to a good start and opening stand of 74 runs.

Australia were 166 for three at the time of tea well headed for a draw. It was the time when Harbhajan who had taken seven for 123 in the first innings struck again.

The Aussies succumbed to pressure as Harbhajan took six for 73 and Tendulkar three for 31. With six overs to spare Glenn McGrath was leg before to Harbhajan and the astonishing turnabout was complete with India winning by 171 runs.